It’s September you say?

It seems as if whenever September rolls around New Yorkers get there undies in a bunch! Why? Well there are two reasons, but to keep the mood light and airy I will only go with this one….

FASHION WEEK!

Yes darlings…the week(s) where every fashion executive, mogul, guru and even broke college student come together to drool over delicate chiffons, playful patterns and the beauty of conceptual art. I know many people will tilt their head to the side and ask “Why are you excited to see clothing you will probably never be able to afford?”

  1. It’s Fun…
  2. It’s Art. Art is not only something you splatter onto a blank canvas, but it’s a medium the reaches far beyond the basic visual. There is a story behind those yards of fabric that speaks to everyone in a way that alters perception.
  3. It’s a timeline. Looking at the economic down turns is one way to reflect on the past, but so is fashion. The timeline of fashion is ever-changing and reflects on the movement of society.

And did I mention we all like to fantasize over what we can’t have?!

I am over the rainbow with excitement to see some of my favorite designer’s collections for Spring 2013 and hopefully throw a new designer or two onto that list. So let the Ohhh’s and Ahhh’s begin.

WAIT A MINUTE!

I can’t forget to mention Fashion’s Night Out! It is that glorious night where consumers are drawn into stores after hours to shop and enjoy the pandemonium of what’s to come.

But for me that evening could have been a wee bit more organized!

I went to DVF in the meat packing district first in hopes of you know…casually running into Solange Knowles, but besides the celebrity faces the energy at DVF was AMAZING! There was people, music, food, drinks, a photo booth and even a palm reader. Oh yea and Diane Von Furstenburg casually walking through the crowd.

A few pics


DVF

So according to Raven here I’m very private, stubborn and a bit guarded with 3 children in my future…O OK RAVEN

*Raven and my bud, my honey bunches of oats Lauren!*

LE PHOTO BOOTH. They were making fancy flip books! I knew we should have gotten in line!!!


The DJ DJ’n!

O hey there Diane, having fun?

Stay tuned kiddies for a post on my favorite collections and trends from NYFW! I love that this post is just full of obnoxious pet names!

Be Comfy.

-SMD

4 thoughts on “It’s September you say?

Spill it!

